February 23, 2017 RSS feed / Opinion

Will Vote ‘No’ On Consolidation

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

In six short weeks, the 10 communities that make up the White River Valley Supervisory Union will vote to fundamentally change how we deliver education to our students.  All the communities have participated in public meetings for the past nine Read More

Dreisbach Gives Reasons To Run

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

I am asking the citizens of Royalton for their vote for a position on the town selectboard. Why am I running and why should the citizens honor me with their vote?  Read More

Satcowitz Would Fit the Bill

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

I am writing to offer my support for Larry Satcowitz in his campaign to be a member of the Randolph Selectboard and I encourage you to support him as well.  Read More

Lyman Running For Selectboard

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

I am running for the Royalton Selectboard and am writing to tell the voters about myself.  I am currently the emergency coordinator for Royalton, having held this position since 2012. Read More

Abortion Question Isn’t So Easy

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

I am responding to Rose Huntley’s letter in which she congratulates herself on not having an abortion as a single parent on her third pregnancy at 21.  Read More

Experience And Tenacity

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

I have known Tim Dreisbach for nine years as a client at our veterinary clinic. Over that time, we have also become friends, and I have grown to really value Tim’s honesty, integrity, and thoughtfulness.  Read More

Fostering Peace—A Local Listening Project

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 / By Cynthia Jackson

This past summer and fall, the Randolph Area Peace and Justice Coalition continued a listening project, first initiated by the Vermont chapter of Veterans for Peace, by posing the question “How do you foster peace?” to members of our loca Read More

Good Jobs Are Begging for Skilled Workers

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 / By Cathleen Lamberton

We have an aging workforce in Vermont and a student population that is confused by the choice to pursue a traditional college education or prepare for a career in the trades.  Read More

Vallee To Run For Bethel Board

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

I would like to take a few minutes of your time to announce I am “throwing my snow shovel in the ring” for a seat on theBethel Selectboard.  My wife Linda and I moved to Bethel in 1991. Read More

Dreisbach Has The Qualifications

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

I’m writing in support of Tim Dreisbach’s candidacy for selectman. I’ve had the pleasure of knowing Tim and his wife Pat since the spring of 2006. During this time, Tim has been both a personal friend and mentor.  Read More

End-of-Life Choices Are Endangered

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

Many of our supporters have contacted us expressing concern about Supreme Court nominee Neil Gorsuch and his moralistic opposition to patient choice at end of life.  Read More

Travel Ban Won’t Solve the Problem

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

Mr. Trump’s travel ban just does not make sense. If his argument is to prevent terrorism on U.S. soil by limiting travel for a handful of predominantly Muslim countries (Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen), it falls flat. Read More

Warm Welcome To Syrian Refugee

Opinion / Feb. 23, 2017 /

We, the Delegates of the Windsor County Democratic Party, would like to go on record as strongly opposing the most recent rash executive order on immigration issued by the Trump administration.  At the same time, we take pleasure in issuing a wa Read More